Skip to content
FREE SHIPPING in France from €100. Europe from €150.
FREE SHIPPING in France from €100. Europe from €150.

The Hub: Pioneers of Network Music


208 pages
Edited by Ludger Brümmer
Text(s) by Ludger Brümmer, Alvin Curran, Golo Föllmer, Barbara Golden, Shelly Knotts, Thomas Lehn, Jon Leidecker, George Lewis, Gino Robair, Julian Rohrhuber, Carter Scholz, Laetitia Sonami, Atau Tanaka, Peter Weibel 
24.5 x 17 cm 
Language: English
Publisher: Kehrer

The US ensemble The Hub is one of the pioneers of network music and live coding.
The formation consisting of Tim Perkis, Scot Gresham-Lancaster, Chris Brown, John Bischoff, Phil Stone, and Mark Trayle emerged from the League of Automatic Music Composers in 1986. They revolutionized electronic music with democratically organized composition and performance processes operating in networks and received the Giga-Hertz Prize from the ZKM | Hertz-Lab.

The publication depicts the collective’s work in a historical context, allows companions and musicologists to have their say and brings together the group’s (annotated) compositional writings for the first time. These scores form the heart of the book and are not only archival documents, but also instructions for playing and the starting point for future projects of a new generation of network music.